Scouting potential contributors

One of the trickiest parts of the process of completing my PIM sketches task has definitely been finding potential contributors for my co-created sketches.

I had no trouble in creating my own sketches, I actually quite enjoyed shooting the various bits of footage and documenting my little journeys here and there. I spent my first few weeks of PIM mainly working on my own sketches. I could tell myself I did this because I wanted to fill my content quota first, but really I know I was just putting off the inevitable of finding co-creators. Although I already had in mind who I was going to ask to contribute to my project I still put it off for as long as I possibly could. I’m not sure why I always seem to do this sort of thing, If I find a situation uncomfortable or intimidating I will put it off for as long as I can get away with. I think this is human nature, as I’m certain I’m not the only one who does this.

Anyway after enough excuses and delaying I finally turned to my first co-contributors, this was the easy one – my parents. I asked my Mum and Dad each to take a camera on their day and photograph something along their ‘everyday’ journeys. They were more then happy to oblige (which is usually how things turns out so I don’t know why I always feel the need to avoid/prolong things like this). After I got the shots from my parents I was feeling a little more encouraged and comfortable with the task. I have seen other students write on their blogs that this assessment has not necessarily been hard, but it has been quite uncomfortable, and I completely agree. It was easy enough to ask my parents, and then afterwards my sister, to contribute but when it came to asking other people and my friends I felt a little self conscious about the task. I wasn’t sure exactly how I was going to word/explain the assessment so they would know what they were contributing to and what exactly it was I was asking of them. Eventually it all worked out well and I explained it to some of my friends and started a Facebook group page to get more content. I was happy in the end that I set up this page as I gathered some great content from it.

I think this task put us out of our comfort zones and thrust us into the media making world, it’s not always going to be comfortable getting content out there! I found this a valuable experience to reflect upon.

Leave a Reply

