Online Identities

Online Identities, or our ‘Identity hubs’, are gaining more and more importance in this post industrial media world. While in the past you would predominantly hand a potential employer a resume listing your finest attributes, it is now simply easier to show your employer your greatest qualities in a neatly presented online space.

With our flavors.me hubs we are attempting to do the same thing. This is a space for us to express who we are and hopefully show potential employers, university tutors and anyone who views our space what we are capable of. My flavors.me hub is still a tentative workspace for what I’m hoping to achieve – which would be an engaging online presence designed to make people take notice. I don’t feel as though I’ve quite achieved what I aim to do yet, but with the work I’ll be producing this semester I’m sure I will have lots to add by the end of the term.

For one of this week’s tasks in Non Fiction Project I was asked to have a look at Matt’s flavors.me page. I found Matt’s page to be interesting and intriguing viewing. It is clear upon browsing the content that Matt is passionate about music, and in particular local artists. I think his page works really well to promote his interests, as well as show any viewer the projects he is currently involved in – his radio show and his band. Matt also has links to his personal Twitter and his RMIT WordPress blog on the page, which I thought provided a good balance – these two links give us access to Matt’s voice. Overall I found this hub to be successful in engaging the audience and painting a clear picture of its creator. I hope my hub will, in future, do the same.

Ultimately our online identities are defining us more and more as technology advances. I hope to effectively harness this tool and use it to my advantage.

Leave a Reply

