Learning from RSS Feeds!

My RMIT Graduate Diploma course has introduced me to many new online concepts I have never considered using before, one of these being RSS Feeds.

Using RSS Feeds to manage all the blogs I’m following is such a simple and easy concept that makes my online management much easier.

Browsing through the various feeds today I came across an interesting article posted on one of the social media blogs I follow, Brainworks. The post Culture and Google Glass was an eye opener for me in regards to the extent we may soon come to rely on technology. The post was discussing the new Google technology ‘Google Glass’. This new technology allows the user to wear a headset with a pair of glasses attached and have all the functions of a normal smart phone, simply via voice command.

You can command your Google Glass to call a friend for you, give you directions (which is where the glasses come in, the directions will be displayed right in front of your eyes so you can simply follow them), you can store reminders to yourself for later and take photos or videos from your eye level point of view. As well as basically organising your life for you the Google Glass can record it as well, through your eyes.

I was fascinated by the product, as I’ve never quite seen anything like it – except for in science fiction films! As the post did not give too much information on the invention I decided to have a google on Google Glass for myself! I came across the website for the product and found an amazing video of how it feels/looks to use . What an amazing experience! The video shows exactly how the product works, better then any words can explain. I imagine it would be quite a surreal experience at first to use this technology, it really does strike me as something out of the future! But then perhaps the future is now, I don’t know if I’m simply behind and things like Google Glass are becoming our present!

While I’m still on the fence about this kind of thing I can’t deny that it is simply fascinating. Sadly though if you want to try Google Glass for yourself you’re currently out of luck!

Here is a quote from the Google Glass website:

Thank you so much to everyone who applied to be a Glass Explorer.

We have been overwhelmed, entertained and inspired by your responses. #ifihadglass is now closed and we will be notifying successful applicants soon. If you don’t hear from us, don’t despair! There will be more chances to get Glass at a later date.

As for how long it will take for more ‘Glass’ to become available, it’s anyone’s guess! While I’m really very intrigued by this concept, I still don’t know if I could ever get used to seeing the world this way:

Photo attributed to the website Digital Afro.

Whether or not people like it one thing is for sure, technology is changing the way we live our lives, hopefully for the better but ultimately only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

